Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G5 & G4 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 06-26-2010, 10:09 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by flip3d
At this point nothing. The question still stands: Does "original content" also apply to alterations in the physics model?
Sounds like you have something specific in mind. What is it? Content from the Internet, other users here, what?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-26-2010, 10:12 PM
Junkboy999's Avatar
Junkboy999 Junkboy999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wichita ,KS
Posts: 1,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by flip3d
At this point nothing. The question still stands: Does "original content" also apply to alterations in the physics model?
He did state "PHYSICS" so it is probably an AV.
__________________
Terry
Junkboy999 The dumb Thumb
When in doubt RTFM = Read The reFerence Manual I'm serious this is the manual click the link
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-26-2010, 10:19 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
For some reason I misread that. I thought he was talking about the phsical (3D) model. The swaps are full of AVs.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:31 PM
flip3d flip3d is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plymouth, Indiana
Posts: 435
The "Rules", if that's what you care to call them, governing the use of "original content" in many instances seem vague. Is there some reason for not considering physics models as "original content" and as such not subject to the guidelines stated in post "1"?

Personally I see no difference between an EA and an AV in this respect.

EA's for the most part are weighted towards the graphics model. AV's towards the physics model.

The bottom line is this: I would prefer to post AV's without displaying the alterations in the "Advanced Properties" of the Aircraft Editor. Is this possible? If not I feel that it should be.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:52 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
I'm not sure but I don't believe you can block out the modifications you have made.

I believe that the designers also try to get the physics correct, not just the visible when building a EA.

What is so bad about people seeing your modifications?
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..

Last edited by Norton; 06-26-2010 at 11:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:54 PM
mwilson914's Avatar
mwilson914 mwilson914 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,112
I've given flexible permission to upload the B-58 for G3/ G3.5. Since I don't own G3 he would have to import the .kex and setup the physics, create the EA, then he has every right to upload to the swaps without having to go back through me. I don't need to be a baby and get the EA from him to upload to the swaps so that people double-know I created the model.

I think anyone could think this way because once you create the .kex, it's KE's property from that point on. The modeler always deserves to get credit for the model, but if I'm doing something for free to play with in the sim and I let others have the model too, I've lost nothing by giving up control to upload EA's on behalf of me.

I'll let people have my .max, .3ds model too if they want it. Don't PM me though for it. I'll know if I should upload to my jimdo webpage by seeing requests.
__________________
http://mwilson914.jimdo.com

Don't let physical inactivity take away your health. It's a hard lesson for those of us with desk jobs, but also for those that work at home from a PC as a second source of income. I'm lucky to still be alive.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:58 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Converting from version to version makes since, that the only way to go backwards to earlier versions.
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06-27-2010, 06:36 AM
flip3d flip3d is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plymouth, Indiana
Posts: 435
The question stands: Does "original content" also apply to alterations in the physics model?

Thoughts on this will vary and for that reason I ask for a response from KE.

Personally I would like to have the option of uploading a model without displaying the "Advanced Properties" be it EA or AV.

This opens a second question: Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 06-27-2010, 07:59 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Advanced Properties is a function of the sim, isn't it? How could a model file disable that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flip3d
Thoughts on this will vary and for that reason I ask for a response from KE.
Who's to say thoughts won't vary by people at KE?

I may be different than anyone else following this thread, but I don't understand specifically what you're up to. What if the tables were turned? What if somebody else was asking these questions about your files? Would you be upset? Maybe this is just all about the Golden Rule.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 06-27-2010, 08:32 AM
flexible's Avatar
flexible flexible is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: na
Posts: 2,263
Send a message via ICQ to flexible Send a message via AIM to flexible
AV verses EA

When a change is made to the EA file by Swap Page users, the only changes you can make,is to physics model, and those changes then become an AV. When you get a Kex file from a modeler, in most cases you will get only the standard RF set up. You will then create the physics model, an because it is posted as G3, "the swaps treats that file as an EA, not because you made an EA, but because there is no G3 EA of record to support it being posted as an AV.
An AV does not, an EA make, no matter how you comb you're hair, hold you're mouth, or what words you put on the file when you post it.
Speaking for my self, when I post a Kex/Ea, I have no choice but to make the post as an EA at that time, but then once posted, I edit the name of poster, and change it to the Modeler who created the 3D file, that is the only person who should get credit for an EA (Entire Aircraft).
__________________
Fly it like it is made out of rubber
Victory or Death
"Ineptocracy"

Wings 3D for dummies
Mapping in Wings 3D for Dummies
Pivots in Max for Dummies
Linking the Hierarchy in Max for Dummies
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 06-27-2010, 08:50 AM
flip3d flip3d is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plymouth, Indiana
Posts: 435
[QUOTE=jeffpn]Advanced Properties is a function of the sim, isn't it? How could a model file disable that?

Don't know and that's why I'm asking. In posting a model would it be possible to give an option of wether or not to display the entire physics properties (original content)?


[QUOTE=jeffpn]Who's to say thoughts won't vary by people at KE?

They most certainly will. Refering to post "1". Guidelines are given, guidelines are accepted. I have no problem with what is in the original post. Just a question as previously stated.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-27-2010, 08:54 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by flip3d
In posting a model would it be possible to give an option of wether or not to display the entire physics properties (original content)?
What are you trying to hide?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-27-2010, 09:46 AM
flexible's Avatar
flexible flexible is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: na
Posts: 2,263
Send a message via ICQ to flexible Send a message via AIM to flexible
"Don't know and that's why I'm asking. In posting a model would it be possible to give an option of wether or not to display the entire physics properties (original content)?"
If the EA physics are not required in order to have the model fly corestly, then just Delete them, and say the AV is all you're work, but if the model needs the EAs edit, then with you hideing the EA modelers work, you are giveing the impression that part of the work is you're work. Bad idea, you don't want to go there!
__________________
Fly it like it is made out of rubber
Victory or Death
"Ineptocracy"

Wings 3D for dummies
Mapping in Wings 3D for Dummies
Pivots in Max for Dummies
Linking the Hierarchy in Max for Dummies
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-27-2010, 01:11 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by flip3d
The question stands: Does "original content" also apply to alterations in the physics model?

Thoughts on this will vary and for that reason I ask for a response from KE.

Personally I would like to have the option of uploading a model without displaying the "Advanced Properties" be it EA or AV.

This opens a second question: Is this possible?
I don't understand why this question is even being discussed

Theres a reason why AV stands for Aircraft Variant. which by definition is an Alternate Physics model
KE "Built in" the option for users to make AVs . not all modelers get the physics model correct and this gives those more familiar with a particular model a chance to do it more accurately .
also not every kit built model is built "to Spec." and allows users to more closely match the physics model to the RW one that they built
or to change it to match the same type of aircraft that may be made by a different mfg. as in this example of your own **SR-71 !
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...o=file&id=8538
the EA 3d model Is OFF LIMITS to being altered by someone else ............AVs are fair game
jeff pn asked "what are you trying to hide"......makes me wonder to ?......not allow Advanced Properties for an uploaded EA???....sorry.......... but you almost sound like "thegibHeelyDelton"..........I MUST BE IN CONTROL
**EDIT err..............Inkys SR-71
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 06-27-2010 at 10:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-27-2010, 01:20 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
My thoughts exactly.

Do I smell fish?

Who knows, KE will be back tomorrow.
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..

Last edited by Norton; 06-27-2010 at 02:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.