Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 4.50 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 08-03-2008, 10:35 AM
ACENH007's Avatar
ACENH007 ACENH007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 4
finally figured it out had to go in and replace the tga file with the new edited file I had just saved works fine now
__________________
"Just remember the controls are back wards when it's coming back at you........DUCK!!!!" Those who criticize can't!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:40 PM
wolfy2671 wolfy2671 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
How to CS

hey great posting everyone...i am currently using gimp and it works great and very simple. all i would like to do is use the current color schemes the planes come with in rf4 just change their colors. however, when i do make the changes i notice some of the colors are not changed competely. ex: different shadow of color perhaps? how do i make gimp change the entire area for me. perhaps i should post up a screen shot so you can see what i am talking about. let me know if you need it i will post a shot. but like on the pitts python i changed its color and i can see minor bits on the edges especially of the original color. what do i do to correct this?

wolfy
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-12-2008, 04:16 PM
Chromenut's Avatar
Chromenut Chromenut is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lake Norman, NC
Posts: 156
Excellent, short and to the point. I've been trying to figure out for a week how to modify CS and with this I was able to do so on my first try. Thank you very much for your efforts!!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-22-2008, 09:42 AM
extra540's Avatar
extra540 extra540 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Angry photo

i had exactly the same problem and adobe doesnt let me open anything
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:16 PM
theecoop theecoop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
try paintshop pro
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-31-2008, 09:40 AM
trevstaff trevstaff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
problems

I am having the same issues as acenh007. I also am using vista. I have gone over the how to cs page and dont know what I am doing wrong. What is "suffixes on" ? How do I check this? I am using Gimp to color and am saving color scheme as.

Thanks,

Trevor
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-24-2008, 12:21 AM
herc40's Avatar
herc40 herc40 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 695
Gimp user...

Save the color scheme you want to edit with Gimp, in the RF sim. Go to AIRCRAFT, then click on SAVE COLOR SCHEME AS, then rename the CS to your choice. Open the CS in the sim, to create a DDS file. After this, look under your RF directory for COLOR SCHEMES, open the folder. look for the new name, and open the TGA file with the GIMP program.

change the colors you want then go FILE, SAVE AS, REPLACE, then uncheck both boxes and press SAVE. Go to RF, and click on your CS name in the sim. if you do this right, you should see the change after the DDS changes.

I created the Gimp Users Guide To Color Schemes, to compliment this thread. You will find helpful hints and tips to make your CS the best it can be.
__________________
Herc40

For a complete list of Recordings, CS's, AV's And EA's, I've done, click here
Paint Scheme Makers, click here for my Gimp Users Guide To Color Schemes
Also check out Grokking The Gimp.

Last edited by herc40; 01-08-2009 at 11:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-26-2009, 03:10 AM
mbergs's Avatar
mbergs mbergs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
I have in the past been able to edit in the way you say in your post but now when I try to save the CS it says unable to find it and it will not save .

also when I try to use downloaded ones they do not show up in the drop down..............WTF.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-26-2009, 05:55 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbergs
I have in the past been able to edit in the way you say in your post but now when I try to save the CS it says unable to find it and it will not save .

also when I try to use downloaded ones they do not show up in the drop down..............WTF.

Mark
Check the paths in the .colorscheme files ( these are merely TEXT files that you can open in Notepad ).

Make sure that G3 sees that the listed folders do exist.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-26-2009, 08:52 PM
mbergs's Avatar
mbergs mbergs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
would the path be in the cs file or in the original plane file......the G3 supplied planes are the one with the problem the extra add ons are ok

If you go in to edit the model it show up with the correct colors.........

Last edited by mbergs; 01-26-2009 at 09:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-02-2009, 08:28 PM
bud anderson 2's Avatar
bud anderson 2 bud anderson 2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: o.h.
Posts: 122
Question

how do u fing tga files
__________________
"latte" is french for "you paid too much for that coffee"
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-02-2009, 10:02 PM
herc40's Avatar
herc40 herc40 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 695
In....

my documents you should have a folder named RealFlight G3.5. open that folder and look inside for COLORSCHEMES, once opened look for the colorscheme of your choice.

Now if you see no folder named REALFLIGHT G3.5, do this. Go to START, then MY COMPUTER, then hit LOCAL C:, then open PROGRAM FILES, then REALFLIGHT G3.5, Then open COLORSCHEMES from there and find the one your looking for. hope this helps.
__________________
Herc40

For a complete list of Recordings, CS's, AV's And EA's, I've done, click here
Paint Scheme Makers, click here for my Gimp Users Guide To Color Schemes
Also check out Grokking The Gimp.

Last edited by herc40; 05-02-2009 at 10:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:41 PM
Keith_H Keith_H is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 36
Just went in a painted up the trainer I am going to learn with. Added colors to make it pop out a bit, now a trip to the hobby shop is in order for monocoat.

Adobe CS3 is a PITB. very confusing for a first time user.

One crucial thing to remember is to save over (overwrite) the original file that you started painting on, otherwise it will revert back to the original RF scheme. (usually that file name stays highlighted in the color schemes folder)

Keith.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:46 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Also the TGA file must be saved in an UNCOMPRESSED format.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-13-2009, 03:40 PM
Keith_H Keith_H is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose
Also the TGA file must be saved in an UNCOMPRESSED format.

I caught that tidbit in the original post, that box was always unchecked when I came upon it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 AM.