Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 4.50 average. Display Modes
  #46  
Old 12-17-2009, 03:43 AM
troya1 troya1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
help

i went to program files then to real flight then to coler scheems got the plane tga i wanted brought it to vuepro .32 converted it to .bmp then was able to use win. paint finished painting then converted it back to .tga then went to real flight it did the dds thing but plane is all liney.... do you know what i did wrong??? help ,want to get this pby 5-a new coler scheem in the air.. thanks i tried gimp 2.6 it comes up in there fin in .tga and .bmp Thank for the help on this one ......

Last edited by troya1; 04-27-2013 at 02:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12-21-2009, 01:16 AM
AFG AFG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
ya when you save the .tga make sure you save it as un-compressed in the options otherwise it will look like the worst "emergency broadcast test" thing you see on tv. just a bunch of squashed pinstrips.....

hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-04-2010, 07:29 AM
cliffanddebbie's Avatar
cliffanddebbie cliffanddebbie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose
In G3 the colorschemes are in the

In G4 the colorschems are in

%USERPROFILE%\My Documents\RealFlight G4\Vehicles\ColorSchemes
Same with G5 My Gimp won't work so now I'm trying Corel, I have quite a few colour schemes I've been wanting to do so be looking!
__________________
BIG PLANES ROCK, GO THE PITTS SPECIAL
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-04-2010, 01:44 PM
mwilson914's Avatar
mwilson914 mwilson914 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,112
http://knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24990

I've been working with manual normal map creating using Photoshop CS4 because the plug-ins don't work on my system. I'll be updating my tutorial with screenshots and also will attach some RFX or ZIP files to the thread. My procedure turned out an amazing final result last night for me. I've put in so many hours tyring to figure this thing out and still can't believe my end result came out the way it did.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-04-2010, 01:47 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffanddebbie
Same with G5 My Gimp won't work so now I'm trying Corel, I have quite a few colour schemes I've been wanting to do so be looking!
Gimp WILL work.....SEE post #47
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 01-04-2010, 01:48 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFG
Would people be interested in a walkthrough with Adobe?
err........ that would be a long hike
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-09-2010, 05:58 PM
edmoor edmoor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 160
windows

i figured out how to paint with gimp.......i have a window on a plane i want to remove,,,,,,,its not shown on the fuselage in the gimp veiw......??????? cant i change that?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:26 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by edmoor
i figured out how to paint with gimp.......i have a window on a plane i want to remove,,,,,,,its not shown on the fuselage in the gimp veiw......??????? cant i change that?
Two possibilities:

- You may not be able to do so, because the window is not mapped to the paint scheme

- The Window may appear as a transparent area on the paint scheme, or part of the "background" color.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:38 AM
Junkboy999's Avatar
Junkboy999 Junkboy999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wichita ,KS
Posts: 1,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by edmoor
i figured out how to paint with gimp.......i have a window on a plane i want to remove,,,,,,,its not shown on the fuselage in the gimp veiw......??????? cant i change that?

What Model is it and what window and we can give you a better answer on if you can change it
__________________
Terry
Junkboy999 The dumb Thumb
When in doubt RTFM = Read The reFerence Manual I'm serious this is the manual click the link
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 03-14-2010, 02:21 AM
plane guy's Avatar
plane guy plane guy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ventura, CA
Posts: 168
i cant ge t gimp to work can you suggest a program besides gimp and acrobat thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03-14-2010, 02:42 AM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Download Gimp from here, it works fine. (version 2.6)

http://www.gimp.org/

Most of the other programs cost money.

Just search here for color scheme tutorials about gimp.

Hint: download gimp and go to the first post in this thread, do step 1 thru 6.
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..

Last edited by Norton; 03-14-2010 at 03:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:26 PM
Steevy_T Steevy_T is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 72
Fireworks

Quote:
Originally Posted by plane guy
i cant ge t gimp to work can you suggest a program besides gimp and acrobat thanks.
My absolute favorite picture editing software ever is Microsoft Fireworks. It is great for blending, and doing some really amazing digital picture editing. After a few days of using it I was able to do some really amazing effects with it. Unfortunately I don't have my own copy (I used the school computers with it) and it is a couple hundred dollars to buy a copy. If you are willing to spend a lot on this, then get Fireworks, if not, GIMP is really the next best thing that I have used.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09-17-2010, 11:12 PM
ThorV8 ThorV8 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 46
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09-17-2010, 11:19 PM
phrank's Avatar
phrank phrank is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 4,682
Ummm, Your're Welcome????

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThorV8
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 03-08-2011, 11:24 PM
dh60man's Avatar
dh60man dh60man is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Clearlake Oaks, CA
Posts: 8
Thanks!

Hey Guy's - Just wanted to thank you for the walk thru - very helpful! My wife says thanks for turning me into a CS junkie (with just a hint of sarcasm!). I tried searching for a thread detailing how to post completed CS's to the swap pages but can't seem to find anything, can anyone steer me in the right direction? I've done 9 Super Cub repaints, 4 Gliders, and I've just completed my 21st Sea Fury repaint (I really like the Hawker Sea Fury :-) but now it takes 10 minutes just to decide which one to take up! Anyway looking forward to getting some of them posted and getting some feedback- Thank's again!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:50 AM.