Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G5 & G4 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 39 votes, 4.95 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 06-03-2009, 03:12 AM
trainsim's Avatar
trainsim trainsim is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
editing planes

how do I add stuff like engines to one of the defualt planes. Cus atm all i can do is add the engine ext but how come I cant see it?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-03-2009, 08:47 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
You cannot change the appearance of a model, unless you have access to the original 3D file. All you can change is the performance.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-03-2009, 01:56 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
yup ...
you can add say.... 5 wings and ten engines for example and it will still "look" the same
how ever the physics will change
and it will fly( or maybe not at all) as if it had 5 wings and ten engines
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-03-2009, 10:50 PM
Junkboy999's Avatar
Junkboy999 Junkboy999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wichita ,KS
Posts: 1,676
bit more to add

Just to say the same thing differently.


Just remember that the Aircraft Editor is for changing the Models "FLIGHT PHYSICS" Only. So it will fly faster if you add more engines and weigh more. If you add really BIG tires it will cause more drag, and so on

The only other aspect you can change is the paint job.
__________________
Terry
Junkboy999 The dumb Thumb
When in doubt RTFM = Read The reFerence Manual I'm serious this is the manual click the link
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:23 AM
flmman flmman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 31
Can I create a model for RealFlight totally free using Wings 3d and required export files, paint program, ect?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:19 AM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Your question has been answered by numerous people already.
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:08 PM
flmman flmman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 31
Its a bit fragmented and hard to piece together sometimes. There is also a lot of conflicting information. I'll work on my credentials by self study instead of agitating you advanced users/engineers.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-21-2009, 12:29 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
There's a sticky on the top of the forums that goes into this as well.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:02 PM
pine01 pine01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Belt CP V2

Sorry for posting it here.Can someone plse create a Belt CP v2 red and blue colour. I ordered one and would like to practise on G4.5. Or at least tell me where I can get a sim model exept fot the e sky sim...thanks
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-03-2010, 03:34 PM
Chippy08 Chippy08 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lemoore, CA
Posts: 8
Question Running Lights

Iím new to RF but am enjoying it very much. Since I am a long time retired Naval Aviator, with thousands of hours in the Scooter (A-4 Skayhawk), I have set up an aircraft carrier with lights and meatball. The A-4 from expansion pack 5 has lights and I am able to make night carrier landings (most of the time successful). I would like to do the same with the A-7 Corsair II and the FA-18 which I downloaded from the swap pages, but neither have visible lights. How can I add them to these aircraft?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-07-2010, 09:37 AM
ViennaLex76's Avatar
ViennaLex76 ViennaLex76 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 15
Arrow RealFlight shader for 3dsMax

Hi!

Everytime I want to create a new aircraft, I have this same nasty problem that I can't figure out how the texture will look like in RealFlight.
For sure, it's possible to simply model and map the aircraft in Max and then, design the texture when the object is imported in RealFlight. not very handy actually!
Many designers here will agree that a beautiful chrom- or even metallic-effect is sometime hard to get right for RealFlight without a "metal"-shader

I searched everywhere on this forum, on internet, almost everywhere I can imagine, if a DirectX-shader exists that simulates in Max the rendering of RealFlight.
Impossible to find anything! It would be nice that RF-Creators give such a (.fx) file for download on the KE-Max page.

I spent a little bit time with understanding the shaders in Max and made this shader self instead. This is a very simple shader, with the possibility to add the 3 maps used by RealFlight (diffuse map with alpha channel, normal map, specular map) linked together with a kind of RealFlight logic.
Simply import your 3 TGA-maps and a square DDS-picture for the Cubemap (e.g. 512x512) and that's it! Your model in Max with real-time reflection, normals and specular.

For sure, this is just a temporary solution, but it looks really near to the RealFlight rendering, and is a good help

Unpack the zip-file into your 32bit 3dsmax-folder. In the material editor, select "Direct-X material" and load the "RealFlight.fx" shader.
When your model looks great, use the same glossiness and specular settings with a standard material because you can't export your plane to KEX when it has DirectX shaders.

I hope this will help you as much as it helps me...

Lex
Attached Images
File Type: gif MaterialEditor.gif (55.8 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg Viewport.jpg (280.0 KB, 72 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip 3dsMax RF shader.zip (6.6 KB, 23 views)

Last edited by ViennaLex76; 04-08-2010 at 02:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-07-2010, 03:29 PM
mwilson914's Avatar
mwilson914 mwilson914 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,112
Adding to Viennalex's reply, I have some CS's I've made in Photoshop CS4 extended and it has a filter for lighting effects. You just slide the slider bar over from plastic to metallic. I have some REALLY brilliant results ranging from chrome highlights to a totally blinged out Ion-X canopy with chrome, gold, copper, bronze, metallic blue and even brushed metal.

I would love it if I could add lights though.
__________________
http://mwilson914.jimdo.com

Don't let physical inactivity take away your health. It's a hard lesson for those of us with desk jobs, but also for those that work at home from a PC as a second source of income. I'm lucky to still be alive.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-28-2010, 01:06 PM
moosehunt2010 moosehunt2010 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Smile Recolor

I was wondering, I'm new to the color schemes, how would I take the Extra 300 paint scheme and convert it to work with the Edge 540? I love the paint scheme I downloaded for the Extra BA, however, I want to convert it to the edge 540 because it's a more accurate model for what I'm flying.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-28-2010, 01:11 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
You can't transfer a scheme from one plane to another. You'd have to remake it.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-28-2010, 01:19 PM
moosehunt2010 moosehunt2010 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Ok, that's what I wondered, thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 AM.