Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G4
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 05-27-2009, 05:16 PM
futuramafreak30 futuramafreak30 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Locked Ina box
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to futuramafreak30
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo_13
that would take the "realism" out of it...
i also would like snow and rain (never flown in snow [only seen it twice in my life] but rain is a different story)
How would that take the realism out of it?
If the prop is fine, you can restart no problem.



I would like more realistic engine sounds.
I wanna hear the "FHWOOMP" the egnine makes when you go from straight and level to hovering.
__________________
Who will be there to look out for the little guy, and ask if he has any money on him?
Tune in next time for the surprising adventures of me, Sir Digby Futurama Freak!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-27-2009, 05:30 PM
Greg.B's Avatar
Greg.B Greg.B is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo_13
that would take the "realism" out of it...
Okay I should have been a bit more specific about what I meant by that. Firstly I meant it would be nice to able to restart engines when the aircraft is stationary on the ground. Also it might be an idea to only have a designated area (in the pits) where you can restart engines. Just like a kind of invisible boundary box object that you can add to airports so that when your aircraft is inside the box and is stationary you can press a key to restart the engine.

Quote:
i also would like snow and rain (never flown in snow [only seen it twice in my life] but rain is a different story)
I have flown in snow twice (once in the dark just to make things a bit more interesting .) I see adding snow as much more of a “nice to have” thing. However if they add rain it’s fairly easy to add snow particles too, the only difference with snow is obviously it gathering on the ground which is much more of a challenge to replicate…
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:10 PM
LonnieO's Avatar
LonnieO LonnieO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Deer Park WA.
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpn
How about a wife sitting in a chair reading a book, randomly nagging you that you've been there long enough?

you mean the one currently in the kitchen nagging at you while your flying RF is not enough heck jest get her a lawn chair and a book less computer resource's needed
__________________
LonnieO

Crash! Glue! Repeat!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:35 PM
lrogers lrogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MObile, Al
Posts: 12
I would like to see the timer. Since we have a Bergan Intrepid and gasser, how about a turbine?
__________________
Larry R. Rogers
R/C Helo Pilot
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:55 PM
maxx2504's Avatar
maxx2504 maxx2504 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 252
Send a message via ICQ to maxx2504
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrogers
I would like to see the timer. Since we have a Bergan Intrepid and gasser, how about a turbine?
Maybe there is a Bergen Turbine on it's way...you never know
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-29-2009, 11:37 AM
rcflyer_09 rcflyer_09 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to rcflyer_09
I think anyone owning Realflight G4, or 4.5, should get to upgrade to G5. and not have to buy the whole thing again.

If not I'll buy Phoenix next time.
__________________
Layed off PC Repair-Man: I'll help Anyone 24/7 Free, Tune up your PC, Speed it Up. Donate t450 parts if you got'um.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-29-2009, 12:21 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcflyer_09
I think anyone owning Realflight G4, or 4.5, should get to upgrade to G5. and not have to buy the whole thing again.

If not I'll buy Phoenix next time.
Not gonna happen. KE does deserve a paycheck, just like you.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-29-2009, 12:23 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcflyer_09
I think anyone owning Realflight G4, or 4.5, should get to upgrade to G5. and not have to buy the whole thing again.

If not I'll buy Phoenix next time.
There is this thing, called "making money" that companies must do to stay afloat....

They've already given you a free upgrade to G4.5 and free add-ons.

Each major revision upgrade has had an associated cost for the end user, but the upgrade price is much lower than what normal purchasers must pay.

It is unrealistic to expect G5 to be a free upgrade, though there are always those who are quick to complain....

And now we get complaints even before the product is announced ( or maybe even being developed )!!!
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!

Last edited by opjose; 05-29-2009 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-29-2009, 04:47 PM
apollo_13's Avatar
apollo_13 apollo_13 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: P. Sherman 42 Wallaby Way Sydney
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg.B
Okay I should have been a bit more specific about what I meant by that. Firstly I meant it would be nice to able to restart engines when the aircraft is stationary on the ground. Also it might be an idea to only have a designated area (in the pits) where you can restart engines. Just like a kind of invisible boundary box object that you can add to airports so that when your aircraft is inside the box and is stationary you can press a key to restart the engine.


I have flown in snow twice (once in the dark just to make things a bit more interesting .) I see adding snow as much more of a “nice to have” thing. However if they add rain it’s fairly easy to add snow particles too, the only difference with snow is obviously it gathering on the ground which is much more of a challenge to replicate…

kk i see now about the restart idea

the snow would not be too hard to replicate...
just have a texture (like grass or dirt) but make it snow...every 2 sec (depending on how much snowfall there is) have the density change...this CAN be done now but you would have to change it manually...hmm this is very possible with just a little programming tweak (try 10100110110100100101011101111010 it should work )...i sure hope that knifeedge will try this (not the binary, the snow concept)
__________________
I don't fly my funtana X. I make it do things with my mind.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-29-2009, 05:49 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,712
Are you out of your minds?

SNOW!!! we don't need no stinkin SNOW
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 05-30-2009, 08:20 AM
apollo_13's Avatar
apollo_13 apollo_13 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: P. Sherman 42 Wallaby Way Sydney
Posts: 743
2 things 12oclock

like Greg said...you have never been to England (i havent either but i hear it is just "smashing")

snow and rain would prepare you for many things other than just flying in percepitation...
it would teach you to fly in limited visibility like foggy mornings
__________________
I don't fly my funtana X. I make it do things with my mind.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 05-30-2009, 08:25 AM
apollo_13's Avatar
apollo_13 apollo_13 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: P. Sherman 42 Wallaby Way Sydney
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by futuramafreak30
I would like more realistic engine sounds.
I wanna hear the "FHWOOMP" the egnine makes when you go from straight and level to hovering.
yeah i like the deep "NEAAOWW" sound DA-150's make when they go by at full power
__________________
I don't fly my funtana X. I make it do things with my mind.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 05-30-2009, 09:48 AM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
hey apollo 13...
NOT that I have ever done it before...
but you CAN edit your last post
Instead of stringing 2-3 posts behind each other here in the forum....it keeps the tread size to a minimum
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-02-2009, 01:46 AM
extreme4dkid's Avatar
extreme4dkid extreme4dkid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The place that I call "home"
Posts: 26
MUST have!!!

GET RID OF THE "SPEED LIMIT," JUST TOTALLY DO AWAY WITH HAVING THE PLANE ONLY BE ABLE TO GO UP TO ABOUT 443MPH, I WANT TO GO F A S T E R ! ! ! ! WAY FASTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

I would like to see more realistic crashes (e.g. broken props; bent landing gear; torn covering; cracked cowlings and canopies; if you hit your wing on the ground only part of it breaks off but it looks all mangled; if you do a nose-dive your plane will be totally demolished, not just in a few pieces with bulsa "bits" around, but actually the engine, servos, covering, bulsa, landing gear, weals, push rods, receivers, batteries, fuel tanks....etc....; if a turbine powered aircraft crashes it will EXPLODE!!!!!!!!!!!1 ; all of that cool stuff you actually see, and if you have a mid-air with someone, say someone hits the other person's tail, it will just cut off the tail of the other plane and then the other plane will crash).

I would also like to be able to cut off your ribons or have other people be able to cut off your ribbons (so you can do combat).

It would also be cool if you could edit your own night flight lighes, like choose colors and place them where ever you want on the plane, heli, or whatever you fly.

Those are my ideas, I hope to see them in G5! I currently have G3.5 and I would like to upgrade, but I am going to wait for G5 to come out instead fo getting G4.5, and I really hope to see these things in G5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
__________________
If you see a bomb technician running, keep up with him.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-02-2009, 07:40 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
From the countless rediculous requests to "do away with the speed limit," I have learned that it is there because physics don't make sense past that. There are problems inherent trying to replicate impossible speeds. Don't worry, though. Eventually, you'll mature, and realize this is a sim, trying to behave like real models do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 PM.