Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight G4
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2011, 10:02 PM
JamesMcKenzie JamesMcKenzie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Exclamation virus on my disk

when i try to install realflight 4.5 on my computer. it says that there is a trojan horse virus on the disk. then it doesn't load the launcher. the disk is from the factory and is already registered in my name. has anyone had this problem? anyone know what to do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2011, 10:06 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Install the software in safe mode. Your virus program is too aggressive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2011, 12:29 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 12,656
Assuming you are using the ORIGINAL Realflight disks....


The only other case of this EVER reported was from someone who already had a trojan/virus on their computer system.

What was happening is that the trojan/virus attempted to be installed onto every executable by the operating system itself, just before launch.

Then the AV "detects" it and blames the installer...

Bottom line either:

- Your system is ALREADY infected

- You are using pirated software

Choose one.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2011, 12:35 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
I did see a guy in another forum who was told by GP tech support to install the software in safe mode, due to his overactive security software. He did so, and had a successful installation. I'm not a smart computer guy, just an information regurgitator.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:37 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 12,656
Possibly....

I've installed it under AVG on a desktop system w/o problems though.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2011, 06:54 AM
Ghost129er's Avatar
Ghost129er Ghost129er is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany (1943)
Posts: 195
Dudes!

Guys its fine, after all it is a saft trojan as it sends hardware data and etc while regestering and etc so its safe, just disable the antivirus for the installation! I promis its safe!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2011, 12:50 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 12,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost129er
Guys its fine, after all it is a saft trojan as it sends hardware data and etc while regestering and etc so its safe, just disable the antivirus for the installation! I promis its safe!
Eh, no....

AVG should not recognize G4.x as a "Trojan" at all, even if it sends out data.

Worst still you are getting the virus message long before the actual program files are extracted/unpacked, so what you mentioned doesn't even apply.

AVG flags the installer's executable as a trojan, which makes no sense.... and that's assuming you also have AVG... do you?
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2011, 09:54 AM
Ghost129er's Avatar
Ghost129er Ghost129er is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany (1943)
Posts: 195
ya i do
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:48 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 12,656
Get rid of it...

Hint: Check out Microsoft Security Essentials... it's FREE and never expires...

Did I mention it's free?
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:19 PM
mwilson914's Avatar
mwilson914 mwilson914 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose
Get rid of it...

Hint: Check out Microsoft Security Essentials... it's FREE and never expires...

Did I mention it's free?
It's what I use now too. No more Norton. I still have a year and a half left on my subscription and I don't care.
__________________
http://mwilson914.jimdo.com
Quote or any catchy phrase that is supposed to go here doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:36 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Grants Pass Oregon
Posts: 7,552
yup................... essentials here too (thanks jeff) no more norton or AVG for me

so far very happy with essentials
__________________
Photography MegaryT http://www.viewbug.com/member/MegaryT
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-14-2011, 11:02 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
And now...
Back to RealFlight.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-16-2011, 04:20 PM
JamesMcKenzie JamesMcKenzie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
hey thanks guys i got it installed. i got underway for a week and it came in handy when i wasn't working. it was the antivirus that was freaking out on me. i just thought it was strange that it would show up as a virus, since it was the ORIGINAL SOFTWARE from the factory and not pirated.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-16-2011, 07:11 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 12,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesMcKenzie
i just thought it was strange that it would show up as a virus, since it was the ORIGINAL SOFTWARE from the factory and not pirated.
All the more reason to suspect something else on your machine.

We've all used the same DVD's as you to install to our machines w/o problems.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-16-2011, 07:20 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Grants Pass Oregon
Posts: 7,552
not mention some here also probably use the same virus protection..................
and did not have that problem
BTW speaking of Virus protection................. what are / were you using? Norton? , AVG? , ?
you never said
__________________
Photography MegaryT http://www.viewbug.com/member/MegaryT

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 04-16-2011 at 07:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.