Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G5
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-06-2011, 01:49 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boof69
I would say your importing wrong.
I second that. Go to the file's page by clicking the link. Do noit use the green download arrow. Follow the instructions found on evey file's page. Hint: yellow question mark.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-06-2011, 01:49 PM
master22 master22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 147
im lost! how am i importing wrong?
__________________
I will host a lot of "normal fun fly" servers. look for the name!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-06-2011, 01:50 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by master22
im lost! how am i importing wrong?
im not looking over ur sholdurr. i dont no.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-06-2011, 01:56 PM
master22 master22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 147
I feel like doing what jeffpn's avatars doing
__________________
I will host a lot of "normal fun fly" servers. look for the name!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-06-2011, 01:59 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
you need to outline the steps you are following so we can see where your problem is
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-06-2011, 02:01 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by master22
I feel like doing what jeffpn's avatars doing
Me too.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:09 PM
master22 master22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpn
you need to outline the steps you are following so we can see where your problem is
1. download a file

2. move it to a location I know where it is

3. import it
__________________
I will host a lot of "normal fun fly" servers. look for the name!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:22 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
There's something else going on? As Boof said, nobody else had a issue with the Fireboss. Including me

This is from the G3.5 board but it still rings true:

HOW DO I INSTALL CUSTOM CONTENT?
A. When you have downloaded the file you want from our swap site, load RealFlight. Select the "Simulation > Import > G3X" menu item in G3.5 or "Simulation > Import > RealFlight Archive" in G4 and G4.5. In the import dialog box that appears, locate the file you downloaded and open it. RealFlight will import the file. In G4 and G4.5 you can select more than one file to import at one time. Do not attempt to put custom content in RealFlight's data or documents folders; this will not work.

Q. HOW DO I REMOVE CUSTOM CONTENT?
A. Go to the "Simulation > Manage User Files" menu item. There you will see a directory-like structure to see all of your custom content. You must ALWAYS use the Manage User Files dialog to remove custom content; attempting to remove any files in RealFlight's data folders will cause problems.

Q. WHY DOESN'T THE AIRCRAFT I JUST DOWNLOADED LOAD?
A. You probably downloaded an Aircraft Variant for which you don't have the original model. Every Aircraft Variant description page gives the name of the Aircraft Model that it requires. Most of these are based on aircraft that are included in RealFlight or in its Add-Ons or Expansion Packs. Some Aircraft Variants are based on Aircraft Models that are available from the swap pages; if this is the case, the Aircraft Variant description page will include a link to the Aircraft Model file that it is based on.

Q. WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN AN AIRCRAFT MODEL AND AN AIRCRAFT VARIANT?
A. An Aircraft Model includes a 3D model that RealFlight uses to display an aircraft on the screen. Aircraft Variants only store changes to the physics properties of an aircraft such as its weight and the size of its motor. Since the Aircraft Variant file does not include a 3D model of the aircraft, RealFlight will not be able to display the aircraft on the screen unless the Aircraft Model on which the Aircraft Variant is based is also present.
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..

Last edited by Norton; 11-06-2011 at 03:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:27 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by master22
1. download a file

2. move it to a location I know where it is

3. import it
I'll bet you're skipping where you unzip the file (which you should not do). Whatever you're doing wrong, you're not mentioning it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:30 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Let us get a look at your system, post a system dump:

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21793
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:36 PM
master22 master22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 147
I have to unzip the file?
__________________
I will host a lot of "normal fun fly" servers. look for the name!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:38 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
No never do that. When you are importing do any dialog boxes come up?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:43 PM
master22 master22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boof69
No never do that. When you are importing do any dialog boxes come up?
just says that the plane is imported at the bottom
__________________
I will host a lot of "normal fun fly" servers. look for the name!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-06-2011, 04:07 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
You're skipping telling us so much of the process you are using. Are you importing an .rfx, .kex, what?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-06-2011, 04:10 PM
master22 master22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 147
this:

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...=file&id=13905
__________________
I will host a lot of "normal fun fly" servers. look for the name!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.