Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 12-15-2011, 07:16 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,709
Parallax problems.... having the software try and stitch clear air space together. Number of rows, number of pictures to take. Time of day. Too much wind. Clouds passing too quickly. Too many people. I have had them all cause problems. It is not as easy as you think.

I found that if I took portrait photos with the top of the bottom row being the horizon, and the bottom of the top row being the horizon... the software did a good job of rotating and then stitching the images together and gave me 97.341% of what I needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by td9cowboy
What was causing you problems on the first two shoots? Not enough overlap,lighting issues, focus?

Last edited by 12oclockhigh; 12-15-2011 at 07:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-15-2011, 09:04 PM
willsonman's Avatar
willsonman willsonman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12oclockhigh
Too many people.
Yeah, because you have people filming an airplane flying into an outhouse!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzBTtWjGx7Q
See time 1:45
Your field is busy though.
__________________
RF loading quote of the day:
Loading: Gerfiburlating Wonkevators ( have a screen shot to prove this one)

Last edited by willsonman; 12-15-2011 at 09:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-16-2011, 08:13 PM
td9cowboy's Avatar
td9cowboy td9cowboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 1,206
Those pano heads are a little pricey. What model of the Nodal Ninja are you guys using and was it sufficient?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-17-2011, 06:15 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,709
Here is what I am using...
http://www.nodalninja.com/products/p...dalninja3.html

Due to the fact that my camera does not mount directly under the lens center, I had to purchase a T-Adapter offset plate too. http://store.nodalninja.com/products...mm-offset.html

I am using a Nikon S8100 camera.


Quote:
Originally Posted by td9cowboy
Those pano heads are a little pricey. What model of the Nodal Ninja are you guys using and was it sufficient?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-18-2011, 02:25 PM
td9cowboy's Avatar
td9cowboy td9cowboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 1,206
It looks like I have the same problem. The lug is offset about a half inch from the center of the lens. That will require the adapter? How many shots were required with your camera for one complete rotation (number of detentes)? Our cameras seem to be of a similar design. You can get the complete coverage with only two rows of shots in portrait mode top to bottom?

Last edited by td9cowboy; 12-18-2011 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-18-2011, 05:52 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,709
I go every other detent.. or about 30 degrees per picture. 12 pictures per row. 2 rows. The lower row, I try to get the horizon at the very top of the picture. For the Upper row, I try to get the horizon at the bottom of the frame.

This seems to work for the stitching software. Very hard to stitch when all you have is blue sky. For my first work, I tried not to do a cloudy sky as they are moving constantly.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-18-2011, 05:57 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
How do you get the straight down shots? The USAF Museum from EP1 amazes me. I don't see any stitching. How'd they hide the tripod?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-18-2011, 06:05 PM
flexible's Avatar
flexible flexible is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: na
Posts: 2,263
Send a message via ICQ to flexible Send a message via AIM to flexible
He might do something like this, then a little PS.
(Here is what I am using...
http://www.nodalninja.com/products/...odalninja3.html )
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot008.jpg (101.4 KB, 20 views)
__________________
Fly it like it is made out of rubber
Victory or Death
"Ineptocracy"

Wings 3D for dummies
Mapping in Wings 3D for Dummies
Pivots in Max for Dummies
Linking the Hierarchy in Max for Dummies
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-18-2011, 06:49 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpn
How do you get the straight down shots? The USAF Museum from EP1 amazes me. I don't see any stitching. How'd they hide the tripod?
The position ismarked and the head allows the camera to swivel out away from the tripod but maintains the height. Then the tripod is moved so the camera looks straight down at the mark then the mark is moved so the shot can be taken.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-20-2011, 09:55 AM
td9cowboy's Avatar
td9cowboy td9cowboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 1,206
I downloaded the trial stitching software yesterday and just attached my camera directly to the tripod with no ninja in the back yard. I learned a lot and I was able to get the back yard into RF. It's not perfect by any means, but I learned a lot. There are tons of stuff to run into in this tight space and it's quite a puzzle to piece together the primitives so you can't fly through stuff. My home field is surrounded by trees on three sides and will probably need a half mile of fifty foot tall wall.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 12-20-2011, 09:56 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
You know I'll do what I can to help you.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-20-2011, 10:27 AM
td9cowboy's Avatar
td9cowboy td9cowboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 1,206
Thanks Jeff. Need a link to my shopping cart?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-20-2011, 10:45 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
What'd you say? My MicroCell must be acting up again! I can hardly hear you!!!
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12-20-2011, 11:42 AM
td9cowboy's Avatar
td9cowboy td9cowboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 1,206
LOL. I kind of suspected that might happen.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12-20-2011, 11:58 AM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,709
Not telling you anything... but keeping the lenses nodal point constant is necessary to get rid of the blur. You never get the resolution right until you do that.

Of course, you can get something into Real Flight that will work. I just gave up on that after some lousy results.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.