Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight 6
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 29 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2012, 03:25 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
A Guide to Downloading and Importing swap files

Hands down the most posted question by people new to the swap pages is "How do I import swap files into RealFlight" or "Where do I put the files after I unzip a downloaded swap file". First off "DO NOT UNZIP ANY SWAP FILE" This is a problem mainly had by people who use Internet Explorer. IE will change the swap files to .zip files. RealFlight will import .rfx,.g3x, and .zip files. If you unzip the file and import the .kex within you will not have the physics that make the model fly correctly. Importing a kex is only for designers who are familiar with what they are doing. The average RealFlight user should simply disregard the "Import/KEX" portion of the importer.
The attached images will guide you through the process of importing an AV(Aircraft Variant) and it's !REQUIRED! EA(Entire Aircraft). An AV will not work or import without the EA it was derived from. The same thing discussed here is true for CS(Color Schemes) and RC(Recording) files. The EA is required for all files created using it.

Crashing while creating DDS
Newer user created content sometimes use large image files to color and detail the model. This can occasionally cause the sim to crash. You can increase your chances of a fully successful import by following these steps.
  1. First delete the failed attempt.
    A previous import attempt will prevent a fresh one. Go to Simulation/Manage User Files/Aircraft/Imported find the failed import and delete.
  2. Restart Real Flight
    This will unload Real Flight from memory therefore freeing up system resources.
  3. Go to a photo field
    A photofield is less memory intensive and takes up less system resources needed for the DDS creation process.
  4. DO NOT fly any aircraft
    Flying aircraft load up memory as well.
  5. Import the g3x, rfx, or zip
    As described in the first section in this post.
  6. Restart Real Flight
    This is just extra precaution.
  7. Choose the aircraft from the list and DO NOT use your computer until the model spawns
    Using the computer for unrelated tasks will again use resources during the crucial DDS file creation.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (470.9 KB, 1134 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (411.8 KB, 1080 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (479.1 KB, 881 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (428.7 KB, 767 views)

Last edited by Boof69; 09-10-2012 at 11:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2012, 02:45 PM
Ryan Douglas's Avatar
Ryan Douglas Ryan Douglas is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 2,617
A little off topic, but a useful import tip that is widely overlooked: clicking the green "import successful" console message will load that new content.
Attached Images
File Type: png Import successful.PNG (49.5 KB, 232 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2012, 03:08 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
Wow! I didn't know about that one. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2012, 04:10 PM
willsonman's Avatar
willsonman willsonman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,953
SO very glad this is a sticky. Thank you so much for the tip Ryan!

Another tip for newcomers is that you can import multiple files at once by selecting them in the dialog box in the second image above.
__________________
RF loading quote of the day:
Loading: Gerfiburlating Wonkevators ( have a screen shot to prove this one)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-11-2012, 11:09 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Douglas View Post
A little off topic, but a useful import tip that is widely overlooked: clicking the green "import successful" console message will load that new content.
Has anyone got this to work? I tried several times over the past couple days with no luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2012, 07:03 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
I tried it once with no luck. It was a .kex file I imported. Maybe that's an exception.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2012, 08:46 AM
Fly_electric's Avatar
Fly_electric Fly_electric is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: N-Space side of all Charged Vacuum Emboitments
Posts: 1,243
Yes, I did get it to work once. Tried it on some DL'd models last night though and it did not work.
__________________
Rebuilding crashed planes one reset button push at a time..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-12-2012, 02:50 PM
Ryan Douglas's Avatar
Ryan Douglas Ryan Douglas is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 2,617
I would not necessarily expect it to work for a .kex, although I haven't tried. But I did just test it on an AP, an AV, and an EA. The mouse cursor should change to a pointing finger when hovered over that successful import message, and clicking it should load that content.

You do need to click it while it's still visible at the bottom of the screen, though. Once it disappears, it is not clickable in the console history.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-12-2012, 03:06 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,285
I'll try one of those later then. I was trying on a .kex so that may be the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:21 PM
smokin10 smokin10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
I have updated Direr X. Rea; F;ight. Shut everything off. and it still gives me the Unexpected error . and shuts it down, I have followed it to a T, what now?????
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:34 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
What model are you having problems importing?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:43 PM
smokin10 smokin10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Goblin
I have 2 gig memory, everything is off, I have Direct x 9, updated Realflight....I can t understand it
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:46 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
Are you deleting the failed attempts from the "manage user files" dialog before retrying?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:47 PM
smokin10 smokin10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boof69 View Post
Are you deleting the failed attempts from the "manage user files" dialog before retrying?
yes and the restarting too
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:48 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,285
Do you have the latest RF6 update? One that allows the use of custom blades? Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.