Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46  
Old 10-15-2014, 09:27 PM
Ryan Douglas's Avatar
Ryan Douglas Ryan Douglas is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 2,617
Yeah. Well, we work in 2014 and then load in 2012 for export.

We're not holding anything back, if that's what you're wondering.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 10-15-2014, 09:28 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Just checking. Gotta keep you guys honest here.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 10-15-2014, 09:36 PM
Ryan Douglas's Avatar
Ryan Douglas Ryan Douglas is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 2,617
heh!

Once we have a new internal version, it will be trivial to put one out for all of you, and we will definitely do that. As of right now, though, I don't know when that will be.

If/when I do have more info, I will be sure to share it.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 10-15-2014, 09:37 PM
mwilson914's Avatar
mwilson914 mwilson914 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,112
I completely understand the issues you need to work through. My life has been very hectic for the past couple of years and I wish I could be as active as I once was. I enjoyed making models for the sim and I enjoyed the fact that some other people enjoyed my models as well. I just don't want people thinking I abandoned things here because I haven't. My life has been flipped upside down over the past couple of years and modeling is really on the back burner for me. I have to move onto the latest software version for my own personal reasons, and someday I trust an exporter will be available again for this sim. Now I will state, I have never created a model for a simulator called P*****x. There physics are hollow, but they do have a perfect turbine sound. :P Still their physics suck. LOL.
__________________
http://mwilson914.jimdo.com

Don't let physical inactivity take away your health. It's a hard lesson for those of us with desk jobs, but also for those that work at home from a PC as a second source of income. I'm lucky to still be alive.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 10-15-2014, 09:42 PM
Ryan Douglas's Avatar
Ryan Douglas Ryan Douglas is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 2,617
Hahah! Understood.

Just so you guys know (and to avoid radio silence being mistaken for... I don't know, for anything, really!): I'll be out of the office the rest of this week. Please don't burn the place down while I'm gone. Though of course others will be watching over things.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 10-15-2014, 09:43 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Matt, I got the matches, you got the fuel?
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 10-15-2014, 09:54 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Seriously, I know for you guys it might not have that sense of urgency because you own the license. I understand where you're coming from as well. For me, I've got until early February and I lose my license due to it being the student version. I'm not that big of a contributor, but I do like doing what I can. I just hope things work out so I can keep it going.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:31 PM
Fly_electric's Avatar
Fly_electric Fly_electric is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: N-Space side of all Charged Vacuum Emboitments
Posts: 1,243
We are now into 2015.
What is the expected date the release the new exporter, and what version of 3ds Max will it be for?
__________________
Rebuilding crashed planes one reset button push at a time..
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04-29-2015, 12:48 PM
mwilson914's Avatar
mwilson914 mwilson914 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,112
Just an FYI. I no longer have access to 3DS Max 2012. I upgraded my PC to a larger SSD and did a fresh install. I now only have access to 3DS Max 2016, 2015 and 2014. I might be able to install 2013, but my subscription terms state the latest 3 versions of Max can be installed on my machine. I'm also not allowed to use any student versions on my PC under my license agreement.

If anyone wondered at all why I no longer model for this sim, this would be reason number one.
__________________
http://mwilson914.jimdo.com

Don't let physical inactivity take away your health. It's a hard lesson for those of us with desk jobs, but also for those that work at home from a PC as a second source of income. I'm lucky to still be alive.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04-29-2015, 08:18 PM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,741
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
i have wondered why you had stopped modeling for the sim , now i know , i hope that problem is dealt with before we have no more modelers able to build the excellent custom EA's
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 05-01-2015, 01:00 PM
Fred Sutliffe's Avatar
Fred Sutliffe Fred Sutliffe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: North Central Wa. U.S.A.
Posts: 2
A newby here!, I just finished downloading 3dsMax 2016. nothing below it was allowed to download....kept getting the error "you have a 64 bit system., you are trying to download a 32 bit program" I was then directed and encouraged to use the 2016 download. 2014 32/64 and all the rest failed with no evidence of proper CAD for vault application. The samples on my KEmax load in perfectly and seamless enough and form proper visuals on the 3dsMax 2016., So, I'm reasoning , there may be a selection for export of either 32 or 64 bit...is that wistfull thinking on my part? Has anyone else experianced the same thing with the new licsenses on 3dsMax? I use an ms word substitute called Professional office suite 4.1.1 by appletree software The KEMax I slected was the second one on the list (if I recall correctly but will recheck to make sure)......
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 05-01-2015, 01:05 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
The latest exporter available is for 2012 32 bit. You can't use any newer version of max as of right now. Sorry, but until KE releases a new exporter, you're out of luck unless you can somehow manage to find 2012 or earlier to DL.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05-01-2015, 01:14 PM
Fred Sutliffe's Avatar
Fred Sutliffe Fred Sutliffe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: North Central Wa. U.S.A.
Posts: 2
Some how I was afraid you'd say that...I had no success at all in finding a 2012....just peachy!!! Thanks for the quick reply, Abaser, think I'll go ride my dirt bike today...get away from the e glitchy side of life.....
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09-09-2017, 09:36 AM
Ghost129er's Avatar
Ghost129er Ghost129er is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: De_Dust2
Posts: 256
Suggestion for the 2013 exporter (even though I'm bumping an old post) would be to be able to have smoothing groups being rough. Imagine exporting a building for indoor flying - I have to manually assign smoothing groups to EVER SINGLE direction of the wall. Front, back, left, right, top (for doorways) and it's getting tedious. Only if the exporter exported files without Autosmoothing of meshes on by default or something...

Even using clear all on all faces on 3ds Max doe not help, so manual smoothing group assignment it is...
__________________
A generic loser who bought RealFlight 7.5 almost a month before RealFlight 8's announcement.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 09-10-2017, 06:01 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
Unfortunately there won't be a new exporter for Max. The new RF-X and the editor has the ability to import the Max file directly and create the KEX. No more problems with needing a specific version of Max as you can now use any version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 AM.