Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-18-2013, 01:56 AM
Kmot's Avatar
Kmot Kmot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,790
That mapping is always the strangest looking 'camo'
__________________
It's a simulator, not a video game! err.... umm....
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-18-2013, 05:55 AM
Kris...'s Avatar
Kris... Kris... is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Little old England
Posts: 139
This is looking sweet abaser.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-18-2013, 03:21 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Thanks Kris.

Well, this has never happened before. After creating the texture this morning, I saved and closed. Im now trying to export the .tga to start some color, and my model is transparent, only showing the edges. Hope this clears up after I export and add color.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot029.jpg (238.3 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg ScreenShot030.jpg (178.1 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-18-2013, 04:19 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Well, here's a quick color check. Ill do more tonight if the mood hits again.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot031.jpg (211.9 KB, 32 views)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-18-2013, 05:29 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by abaser View Post
Thanks Kris.

Well, this has never happened before. After creating the texture this morning, I saved and closed. Im now trying to export the .tga to start some color, and my model is transparent, only showing the edges. Hope this clears up after I export and add color.
That is a material properties issue, I believe. Try messing around with your vertex colors attribute next time you see that.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:22 PM
flexible's Avatar
flexible flexible is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: na
Posts: 2,263
Send a message via ICQ to flexible Send a message via AIM to flexible
I've seen that before. hehe
__________________
Fly it like it is made out of rubber
Victory or Death
"Ineptocracy"

Wings 3D for dummies
Mapping in Wings 3D for Dummies
Pivots in Max for Dummies
Linking the Hierarchy in Max for Dummies
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-18-2013, 08:21 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
Not me !...heh heh
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-18-2013, 08:59 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by flexible View Post
I've seen that before. hehe
The last time I saw it was in blunder. Bad news in that case. I haven't opened the wings file back up yet, but upon opening the tga in gimp, there was no background coloring on it. It's like I saved it with the alpha channel dominant somehow. Weird thing is, by default, gimp doesn't open a file with the alpha present. You must manually add it, or add a layer to get the alpha present.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-18-2013, 09:09 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
The alpha is there by default in Wings.

Check the color settings when creating the .tga.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-18-2013, 09:31 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Here's a shot of my settings. White, color background is what I'd expect to see in gimp. I created a new texture just to double check to see what Id get. As you can see, no background. Jeff, Ill check into your other suggestion just as soon as I can find what it was.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot033.jpg (448.9 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg ScreenShot034.jpg (338.6 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-18-2013, 09:40 PM
flexible's Avatar
flexible flexible is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: na
Posts: 2,263
Send a message via ICQ to flexible Send a message via AIM to flexible
You have chosen a white background, to go with a mostly white model, not good unless you dhk. You also have chosen to hide the background in wings.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot003.jpg (88.0 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Fly it like it is made out of rubber
Victory or Death
"Ineptocracy"

Wings 3D for dummies
Mapping in Wings 3D for Dummies
Pivots in Max for Dummies
Linking the Hierarchy in Max for Dummies
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-18-2013, 09:42 PM
flexible's Avatar
flexible flexible is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: na
Posts: 2,263
Send a message via ICQ to flexible Send a message via AIM to flexible
PS, I changed my background color in gimp
__________________
Fly it like it is made out of rubber
Victory or Death
"Ineptocracy"

Wings 3D for dummies
Mapping in Wings 3D for Dummies
Pivots in Max for Dummies
Linking the Hierarchy in Max for Dummies
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-18-2013, 09:54 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by flexible View Post
You have chosen a white background, to go with a mostly white model, not good unless you dhk. You also have chosen to hide the background in wings.
For that example, I used white simply to create my template with the faces outlined for for CS ease. I always hide the background in wings after I get my initial placement of parts to make it easier to see if any parts were missed. I never unhide after doing so.

Like I said before, it's not a big deal, just something I've never seen before in wings.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-19-2013, 12:24 AM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Still a lot to do, but a little progress. Areas where mapped areas meet still need attention, but its close.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot035.jpg (85.0 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg ScreenShot036.jpg (78.1 KB, 33 views)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-20-2013, 09:41 AM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
It is really coming along.
__________________
Brought to you one triangle at a time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 AM.