Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-26-2013, 03:29 AM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by brields View Post
Looking good. You should do more models.
..News flash.....
He has

oneder .............26 hours from first post to last post ........amazing ...you do this in your sleep .........don't you
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 07-26-2013 at 03:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-26-2013, 03:48 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Now the real paint job begins. I prefer to use paintshop pro over cs6, just has a much faster UI IMO. I open a new 4096x4096 tga and use the pen tool to quickly vectorize the graphics. I create a single vector then copy it and change color and reshape it. A simple colorscheme like this one can be done in about an hour using this method. I auto save a copy of the tga and a copy of the layered file while watching the 3D model update in real time on a second monitor in 3ds max.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image12..jpg (208.4 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg render_01.jpg (222.5 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg render_02.jpg (164.4 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg render_03.jpg (70.8 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by oneder; 07-26-2013 at 05:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-26-2013, 07:37 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Still needs landing gear, some cockpit/wing details and control surfaces. 4500 triangles total so I am in real good shape at this point
Attached Images
File Type: jpg render_01.jpg (231.7 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg render_02.jpg (177.1 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg render_03.jpg (212.9 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-26-2013, 07:44 PM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
Nice job.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-26-2013, 08:50 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
What would it take to get you to do a modeling tutorial? I'd love to watch you work sometime. Excellent job!!!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:28 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
I wouldn't even know how to go about doing that
Attached Images
File Type: png Dr.-Evil-One-Million-Dollars.png (378.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:32 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Take screenshots along the way showing your procedures. Kind of like what you're doing, but many more pics, and more detail on techniques.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:46 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
To be honest the reason I don't take that many screenshots is because when you run multiple monitors it captures all of the screens at once, then I have to crop each screengrab in photoshop which is kind of a pita.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-27-2013, 02:42 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
I use the Windows Snipping Tool a lot for quick screen grabs of just a portion of the screens. It's a lot faster than having to print screen and then crop.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-27-2013, 02:53 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
I don't see the problem with a multi screen shot anyhow?
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-27-2013, 02:56 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,289
Gadwin print screen has an option for a marquee tool to select the area to be captured.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-27-2013, 03:06 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Thanks I never knew about the "snipping tool" that makes this much easier!

My 1st snip
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (56.5 KB, 20 views)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-27-2013, 03:14 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maj. Numbskully View Post
I don't see the problem with a multi screen shot anyhow?
Here's what I get when I hit "print screen".
Attached Images
File Type: jpg the problem.jpg (350.4 KB, 25 views)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-27-2013, 04:04 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
actually I like that better !
if I enlarge them by clicking on them they are big and high res.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShots437.jpg (290.6 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 07-27-2013 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-27-2013, 09:11 PM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
I too use multiple monitors and often have two or more programs actively running while designing, but don't use the default Windows screen capture. There are many screen capture programs that can capture an active window or even just an area on the screen. The one I use is part of Paint Shop Pro and it can be triggered by a right mouse click, definable hotkey, or on a timer; and then opens the image in PSP.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 AM.