Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight 6
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #46  
Old 05-17-2014, 06:25 AM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Douglas View Post
[*]It tends to occur with Asus motherboards, though apparently not exclusively.
.

And not EVERY Asus motherboard
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 05-19-2014, 12:05 AM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
Asus tells me that KE is sending them an Interlink for testing so I am hopeful!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-10-2014, 11:33 PM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
Asus says they have received the Interlink and duplicated the problem on "many Intel 8/9 series motherboards" including Gigabyte boards. They are looking for a list of any additional boards that have the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-11-2014, 12:37 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Funny I have no problems on "many Intel 8/9 series motherboards" including Gigabyte boards.

Only the ASUS seem to be affected so far.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-13-2014, 11:56 AM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
I think they were hoping for a more specific list, but in any case, they just emailed me a beta BIOS to try out.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 06-13-2014, 01:57 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orion View Post
I think they were hoping for a more specific list, but in any case, they just emailed me a beta BIOS to try out.
Yeah!

Let us know how it goes.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-13-2014, 05:20 PM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
Looking good! Since it's a beta BIOS, I put it on a test system which doesn't have RF or anything else important on it. Just booting up a memory test used to take 9 seconds without Internlink and 17-50 seconds (sometimes more) with Interlink attached.

With the beta BIOS it's taking 9 seconds with out without the Interlink!
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-13-2014, 05:27 PM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
Booted into Windows (still on a test system without RF) and it is still looking good - Windows still sees it as a proper HID/game controller and sees the sticks and buttons moving.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-13-2014, 06:14 PM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
Also, I can easily get into the BIOS via F2 (even this was slow before) and move around the BIOS without any hangs. Seems like they've got it!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-14-2014, 09:07 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Did you report back that they fixed it?

BTW: Major congrats, very few people can say that they are directly involved and somewhat responsible for a bios update / fix that may roll out to the entire world.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-15-2014, 08:13 PM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
Oh yes, I let them know, and they're going to let me know when this BIOS is in general release.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06-15-2014, 10:33 PM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
Well a bit of a delay - they say that since all Intel 8 series boards that they have tested have the issue, they're going to check with Intel and KE before putting... whatever they did... into a formal BIOS.

If KE or anyone else has a list of Intel 8 series boards that are known not to have the issue, it might speed things up.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-16-2014, 12:42 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orion View Post
Oh yes, I let them know, and they're going to let me know when this BIOS is in general release.

Thanks!
I'd love to know the details of what they found and changed.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06-16-2014, 07:56 PM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
They didn't say. I'd like to know too. At first I thought it was a true fix, but now it's sounding like they're not sure if it's a fix or a kludge.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-18-2014, 10:18 AM
Orion Orion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 264
I got another email from Asus that they haven't gotten a response from KE and they're wondering if I have a a better way to contact them. So if anyone from KE sees this, please check for a message from Asus or please PM me so I can forward the Asus email.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 AM.