Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G4
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2015, 11:53 AM
mike4 mike4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
Mistral glider change flaps from throttle to knob

Hi
how to change the Mistral landing flaps from throttle to the turning knob on the transmitter?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2015, 05:36 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,568
Go into the editor (with the Mistral loaded, of coarse). Navigate yourself to the flaps in the menu. They`re attached the "main wing", so you will likely have to click on that in order to get to the flaps. You should see a channel assigned to the flaps, (probably #1), click on that channel#, another menu should appear, click on channel #6, exit the editor. You will be prompted to "save your changes" click on "save", RF should return to the sim., and you should have flaps on your knob. This is a rough explanation, but should get you there. Let me/us know if it works. We`ll get you through it, it`s not that hard....
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit

Last edited by uncle twist; 11-16-2015 at 06:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2015, 06:02 PM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,741
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
uncle twist that glider has 2 flap servos a Left and a Right with complex flap controls on channel 6 and 7 with channel 3 controlling those also the ailerons have 2 servos , Right on channel 1 and Left on channel 5 with complex aileron controls tied in with channel 3 so those are tied in with the flaps as well to change those to channel 6 dial you need to change the complex control radio channels to channel 6 . also channel 2 has complex control setup here is the change for you this version i didn't get the elevator changed so don't down load this one get the ones below
Attached Files
File Type: rfx Mistral 3m CH6_AV.RFX (37.8 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by doug schluter; 11-17-2015 at 11:57 AM. Reason: change
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2015, 06:53 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,568
Hey Doug, I`ll confess, I didn't look at the mistral before my reply. Was thinking it was a standard set up. Sounds over my head..., by your reply, I`ve played with the editor, but never got into "complex" setups with the radio/servos..
So, does the file you posted give Mike4 what he`s asking for..??
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2015, 09:10 PM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,741
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle twist View Post
Hey Doug, I`ll confess, I didn't look at the mistral before my reply. Was thinking it was a standard set up. Sounds over my head..., by your reply, I`ve played with the editor, but never got into "complex" setups with the radio/servos..
So, does the file you posted give Mike4 what he`s asking for..??
yes it does give him the channel 6 as the control for that setup instead of the throttle stick , but the dial is backwards to what i normal have . to change that you need to go into the complex setup graphs on all the controls 2 for ailerons 2 for flaps and 1 for elevator and reverse the graphs i figured this would give him what he wants without doing all that just makes the Dial work backwards , i can fix it for him if he wants and post it on the swaps

Last edited by doug schluter; 11-16-2015 at 09:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2015, 10:28 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,568
Thanks for your reply/help Doug, hopefully Mike4 will chime back in and let you know if that`s what he was looking for..
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2015, 10:53 PM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,741
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
no problem and yes hopefully he will let me know but if not thats ok
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2015, 11:17 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,568
Roger that..
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-17-2015, 01:55 AM
adrenoline 60 adrenoline 60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 479
Even if mike4 doesn't get back to you... I was following this thread, for the (complex) edit experience..
I looked at the plane in the G4.5 editor. And was messing around with problem, when you came up with the channel swap solution.
I Put both down on paper, so I could look at them side by side, I came up with 7 Graphs. One in Output Ch 1, One in Output Ch 2, One in Output Ch 5, Two in Output Ch 6, and Two in Output Ch 7
If it isn't too much trouble, I wouldn't mind seeing the Full solution, with the knob reversal. If not for Me Do it for the mike4

Last edited by adrenoline 60; 11-17-2015 at 01:50 PM. Reason: Correction G4 to G4.5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-17-2015, 02:09 AM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,568
Probably won`t get an answer from me adrenoline.., seems to be over my editing experience I`m pretty good with the editor, just never have "gone there" before..
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-17-2015, 02:17 AM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,741
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenoline 60 View Post
Even if mike4 doesn't get back to you... I was following this thread, for the (complex) edit experience..
I looked at the plane in the G4 editor. And was messing around with problem, when you came up with the channel swap solution.
I Put both down on paper, so I could look at them side by side, I came up with 7 Graphs. One in Output Ch 1, One in Output Ch 2, One in Output Ch 5, Two in Output Ch 6, and Two in Output Ch 7
If it isn't too much trouble, I wouldn't mind seeing the Full solution, with the knob reversal. If not for Me Do it for the mike4
just a quick answer for tonight but if you do this change to all the graphs it makes the control work opposite on channel 6 dial
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Graph changes.jpg (165.1 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-17-2015, 02:25 AM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,741
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
here is the corrected version to compare with
Attached Files
File Type: rfx Mistral 3m CH6 corrected_AV.RFX (37.9 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-17-2015, 04:21 AM
adrenoline 60 adrenoline 60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 479
Thanks a bunch Doug. I'll see if I can get a solid grip, on understanding it all. A pictures worth a thousand words with me. I loaded the Corrected AV, and decided to give the brain cells a rest, till morning, and just fly it.(Sierra Nevada Cliff, G4.5) Weird, It went UP like a rocket, had to fight it back down. I maxed the elevator trim, to help slow down the climb rate, but still had to hold it down, with the sticks. Not sure what changed. I went back to the stock Minstral 3m, and it flew fine, with the trim centered. Ill have to give it a fresh look in the morning. Thanks again for the tutoring aid. Iv run into multi mix issues in the past, with backward switches, reversed dual rates, and rouge gyros. Sometimes its just easier to adapt .

Last edited by adrenoline 60; 11-17-2015 at 01:51 PM. Reason: Correction G4 to G4.5
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-17-2015, 11:09 AM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,741
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
yeah thats weird it seems to fly the same to me i never changed any throws but i'll have a good look see if something changed between the 2 . I went in and set the channel 2 graph to 100 from 89 and the middle to 42 seems better but there's lots of wind in that AP the Minstral 3m heavy ballast would be a better choice , now you can practice and set the graphs up for that one with the dial as control .

Last edited by doug schluter; 11-17-2015 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-17-2015, 11:45 AM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,741
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
here is a version with trim setup on channel 8 for different wind speeds , play around with the settings until you get it how you like , the middle position seems to work good at Sierra Nevada Cliff . You will find there's a lot more detailed things you can do with the editor you can add modifiers as well for one , thats one of the reasons why i really like RF , it takes lots of practice and testing to get good at it , then you forget some things at times , haha how do i know
Attached Files
File Type: rfx Mistral 3m CH6 corrected trim_AV.RFX (38.7 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by doug schluter; 11-17-2015 at 11:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 AM.