Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2015, 02:36 PM
TPRogers's Avatar
TPRogers TPRogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 49
Anyone willing to build 1/3 Fokker Dr.I for hire?

Hello!...

... and having just picked up a GP/RF6 at a tag sale!, I am having a blast with it's capabilities! Being a WWI enthusiast, I fly those models the most, followed by Golden Age. That said:

I would love to have a 1/3 gas powered Fokker Dr. I and even a 1/3 gas powered Fokker DVIII to fly in RF6. Would anyone be willing to hook me up with either, or both? What would the procedure be, and/or cost? I build my own models!, but have no idea as to HOW this would work in this medium. Please get in touch if you can help or have any advice. THANKS!!!

TPRogers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2015, 03:00 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
You will need to Download and install the Free Add On files.

You will then get the DR-1.

Here is the Fokker DVIII

If you Purchase the Airplane Mega Pack, It includes a Fokker DVII Which is a small electric but can be easily scaled up to whatever scale you choose. I have a 100cc powered variant. There is also a Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.5 in there and a Nieuport 28C.1 too.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DR-1.JPG (33.3 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg DVII.JPG (27.6 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg Neuport.JPG (29.1 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg SE5.JPG (28.2 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by csgill75; 12-28-2015 at 03:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2015, 03:14 PM
TPRogers's Avatar
TPRogers TPRogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 49
csgill75!

THANK YOU for your reply! Interestingly, on the stock RF6, it also included a Mega Pack .. so .. I DO have the ElectriFly Fokker DVII. It also has a 1/3 Albatros DVa gas which just knocks me out! I have a Sopwith Camel ... a Nieuport 28 ... and a Sopwith Pup too. Those are all gas powered and in 1/4 scale. After flying all those, I started looking for the LARGE SCALE gas powered models and found a very nicely rendered Fokker EIII/Eindecker with wing warping!... but have yet to find a Dr. I or bigger DVII in a gas powered version. That said...

I will see what I can do with the link you supplied for the FREE downloads. THANK YOU very much for that! If the Dr. I is too small though, I would still be looking for a 1/3 scale. Is it overly difficult to "custom build" one? Again, I build with wood and fabric!, but have no clue as to how this stuff works! THANKS again!

TPRogers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2015, 03:22 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPRogers View Post
csgill75!

THANK YOU for your reply! Interestingly, on the stock RF6, it also included a Mega Pack .. so .. I DO have the ElectriFly Fokker DVII. It also has a 1/3 Albatros DVa gas which just knocks me out! I have a Sopwith Camel ... a Nieuport 28 ... and a Sopwith Pup too. Those are all gas powered and in 1/4 scale. After flying all those, I started looking for the LARGE SCALE gas powered models and found a very nicely rendered Fokker EIII/Eindecker with wing warping!... but have yet to find a Dr. I or bigger DVII in a gas powered version. That said...

I will see what I can do with the link you supplied for the FREE downloads. THANK YOU very much for that! If the Dr. I is too small though, I would still be looking for a 1/3 scale. Is it overly difficult to "custom build" one? Again, I build with wood and fabric!, but have no clue as to how this stuff works! THANKS again!

TPRogers
Check out the Swap Pages, what you are looking for may already exist. If not then you can enlarge any of those models to the size you want and adjust the physics to fly correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2015, 03:33 PM
TPRogers's Avatar
TPRogers TPRogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgill75 View Post
Check out the Swap Pages, what you are looking for may already exist. If not then you can enlarge any of those models to the size you want and adjust the physics to fly correctly.
Indeed! I did in fact cull through the swap pages, and that's where I found the 1/4 EIII/Eindecker I mentioned! There are plenty of Dr.I's there .. but .. I have to find one that has the suffix EA, and I think the only one like that was a "foamie" ... not that there's anything wrong with that of course. I shall look into scaling up and adjusting the physics, although as mentioned... I have ZERO idea as to the procedure. After flying the 1/3 scale Albatros DVa with the gas engine, well... outside of the takeoff being TOO EASY and not quite accurate, the rest of the flight experience was so much like my giant scale WWI gas powered models that I was blown away. So...

... if I can locate or acquire a Dr. I and/or DVIII like the Albatros DVa, I would be sitting pretty! THANK YOU so much for your replies and help csgill75!

TPRogers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2015, 03:38 PM
TPRogers's Avatar
TPRogers TPRogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 49
csgill75!

I just wrote a reply, but was shown a window that said "a moderator had to approve my reply" ... ?! How odd! Do you know anything about that? Did I do something wrong? NEWBIE here!, so I want to practice the proper decorum! THANKS!!!

TPRogers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2015, 02:53 PM
adrenoline 60 adrenoline 60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPRogers View Post
csgill75!

I just wrote a reply, but was shown a window that said "a moderator had to approve my reply" ... ?! How odd! Do you know anything about that? Did I do something wrong? NEWBIE here!, so I want to practice the proper decorum! THANKS!!!

TPRogers
Check this out, it should shed some light on your situation: http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...14&postcount=9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2015, 04:59 PM
TPRogers's Avatar
TPRogers TPRogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenoline 60 View Post
Check this out, it should shed some light on your situation: http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...14&postcount=9
THANKS adrenoline 60!...

... as that explains it! Funny thing, I moderate an absolutely HUGE Vintage Drum Forum with over 16,000 members worldwide!, so I have an excellent understanding on these things as that's the position that I am in over there! That said, we always let new members post freely, but monitor "behind the scenes" . If anything is out of order, I step in immediately and put it right, or ask the offender to leave if they persist. Every forum has their way/method though, so I understand now! THANKS!!!

TPRogers
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2015, 05:01 PM
TPRogers's Avatar
TPRogers TPRogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 49
adrenoline 60! ...

... and I just wrote a reply to you, and it happened again! You know, I wonder if it's because I "quoted" and then wrote the reply? Regardless, THANK YOU!, as that explains it. Should my 1st reply back to you show eventually, you can have a read! THANKS again!!!

TPRogers
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2015, 09:28 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
Eventually you will be able to comment normally, new accounts have some restrictions which prevents you from posting some things. This is to prevent spammers from posting their nonsense. Once one of the administrator's see your a real person, you will have full privileges.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-29-2015, 10:31 PM
TPRogers's Avatar
TPRogers TPRogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 49
csgill75!

THANKS for your input! Makes sense. I want to mention that I am the admin/mod for a HUGE Vintage Drum Forum that has over 16,000 members, and I/we let new members post freely, but watch closely from "behind the scenes". Should a member or a spammer start posting garbage, I handle it quickly. SPAMMER accounts get deleted/banned, and unruly members are warned, etc. Every forum does it differently of course!, so I now understand. THANKS again for your input!

TPRogers
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-30-2015, 11:58 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
You can play with my AV of the Fokker DVII. I made it with a 6 ft wingspan and its just over 18lbs. It has a gas powerplant and flies beautifully. I didn't create it to any specific scale when i did it months ago, I just wanted a bigger non electric version of the DVII. I don't mind you using it or anyone else for that matter, Just don't post it on the Swap pages.
Attached Files
File Type: rfx Fokker DVII 200%_AV.RFX (55.3 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-30-2015, 02:35 PM
TPRogers's Avatar
TPRogers TPRogers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 49
csgill75!

WOW!!!, and THANK YOU very much! I immediately downloaded and imported, and then had to fly it! <smile> It flies very nicely indeed! I have but one question though: I have no idea HOW you even did this by taking a small electric and turning it into a nice flying 1/4 scale gasser, but it's brilliant! My question, if it's even possible, is...

... is there any way I can make it physically LARGER in the simulation? You know, bump up the actual visual "size"of the airframe so it's a little larger? I know there is a "rescale physics" option with different percentages shown. But is it that easy? Something tells me no, it isn't. Or is it? Regardless... THANK YOU again! It flies beautifully!

TPRogers
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-30-2015, 02:59 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPRogers View Post
csgill75!

WOW!!!, and THANK YOU very much! I immediately downloaded and imported, and then had to fly it! <smile> It flies very nicely indeed! I have but one question though: I have no idea HOW you even did this by taking a small electric and turning it into a nice flying 1/4 scale gasser, but it's brilliant! My question, if it's even possible, is...

... is there any way I can make it physically LARGER in the simulation? You know, bump up the actual visual "size"of the airframe so it's a little larger? I know there is a "rescale physics" option with different percentages shown. But is it that easy? Something tells me no, it isn't. Or is it? Regardless... THANK YOU again! It flies beautifully!

TPRogers
Go into the RealFlight Editor and in the Vehicle Tab look for the Vehicle Graphicsl Scale (%) entry and Click on the Value (normally 100) you can change the Value from 25% to 400% so you can make it from one quarter size to four times as large. Just remember that entry ONLY changes what the plane looks like when you're flying, it does not change HOW the plane fly's. That's controlled by the Physcs settings.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-30-2015, 03:21 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
As Technoid said, You can easily change the Graphics scale up to 400% with the editor (even larger with a .rfvehicle file edit, for advanced use only) but to get it to fly like a aircraft of that size, you need to match the physics scale and the Graphics scale. Once the Graphics scale and the Physics scale are close to matching, then you need to go in and ajdust the weights of each of the components to match what an aircraft of that size would weigh in real life. If you have a 1/3 scale model of a DR-1 for instance, You could get the graphics and physics scale pretty much within an inch of what your model is, then get each of the component weights exactly what your real model is, give it a similar engine and propeller, you would have a pretty near accurate representation of what your model is. I have some very accurate AV's of the planes and helicopters That I fly, within a ounce of my real birds with motors very close to the correct torque curves and even running them through my radio trainer port, it's almost exactly like how the real aircraft fly.

The only way to rreal way to learn is to do it. Start with Stock aircraft, change them how you want and save an AV. You can't break the Stock aircraft and if your AV isn't any good, Delete it under the Simulation menu and Manage user files.

There should be a class on how to use the Realflight editor, it is what Makes Realflight stand out among the other simulators, You can fine tune any aircraft to fly anyway you want.

Now that you have Realflight 6, You can get the Upgrade to 7.5 for around $50.00 have the latest version of the software and the New Editor. The Editor in RF6.5 is dated now, its still a good editor, but we have moved on with a different, more efficient layout.

Last edited by csgill75; 12-30-2015 at 03:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 AM.