Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RF-X
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 11-27-2017, 07:32 PM
sharkyh2o sharkyh2o is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
All this RF 8 talk got me back to RF X and some racing just for fun. Not sure why i even bother lol
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RFX Crash.jpg (13.8 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 11-27-2017, 08:13 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,793
What was going on when the crash occurred? More info on your equipment would be helpful.

An update is expected by end of year.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 12-06-2017, 11:44 PM
asj5547 asj5547 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkyh2o View Post
All this RF 8 talk got me back to RF X and some racing just for fun. Not sure why i even bother lol
I was getting the same RF-X has stopped working error popups, very intermittent, error would appear at splash screen or after 1 - 2 hours of flying.
I updated all system drivers and performed windows system file check (sfc /scannow) which found no faults, unfortunately the problem persisted.
So I contacted Great Planes Support, Alex was very helpful, he gave me a long list of instructions to test and validate my computer system, eventually Alex advised me to uninstalled RF-X and reinstalled the program, then run it without updating for test purposes, version 1.00.028 operated fine, I flew different planes at various airports for an hour, worked good, (no error popups), just slow frame rates and stuttering then I downloaded the RF-X updates and applied them, now version 1.00.042 is working flawlessly again, 100 fps. and only the very occasion stutter.
Looking forward to the next RF-X update, this is a great simulator, with incredible graphics, especially when flying low between the trees and buildings, it is like flying in a moving photofield,
Please, Realflight just continue to improve RF-X and lets have no talk of discontinuing this graphics rich software.
I do not have a super computer, my specs:
Ryzen 5 1500x cpu
NVidia GTX 1080 gpu
Asus B350 plus motherboard.
m.2 Drive
8 GBS DDR 2400 ram (Yes only 8 gbs) I may add another 8 gbs at a later date but for now it works great.

Last edited by asj5547; 12-10-2017 at 11:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 12-11-2017, 12:55 AM
jasond jasond is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by asj5547 View Post
I was getting the same RF-X has stopped working error popups, very intermittent, error would appear at splash screen or after 1 - 2 hours of flying.
I updated all system drivers and performed windows system file check (sfc /scannow) which found no faults, unfortunately the problem persisted.
So I contacted Great Planes Support, Alex was very helpful, he gave me a long list of instructions to test and validate my computer system, eventually Alex advised me to uninstalled RF-X and reinstalled the program, then run it without updating for test purposes, version 1.00.028 operated fine, I flew different planes at various airports for an hour, worked good, (no error popups), just slow frame rates and stuttering then I downloaded the RF-X updates and applied them, now version 1.00.042 is working flawlessly again, 100 fps. and only the very occasion stutter.
Looking forward to the next RF-X update, this is a great simulator, with incredible graphics, especially when flying low between the trees and buildings, it is like flying in a moving photofield,
Please, Realflight just continue to improve RF-X and lets have no talk of discontinuing this graphics rich software.
I do not have a super computer, my specs:
Ryzen 5 1500x cpu
NVidia GTX 1080 gpu
Asus B350 plus motherboard.
m.2 Drive
8 GBS DDR 2400 ram (Yes only 8 gbs) I may add another 8 gbs at a later date but for now it works great.

Totally agree with the above comments, this software is great as long as you have the right machine. Quite frankly is my favorite sim now.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 12-15-2017, 06:34 PM
Amarynth Amarynth is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by asj5547 View Post
I was getting the same RF-X has stopped working error popups, very intermittent, error would appear at splash screen or after 1 - 2 hours of flying.
I updated all system drivers and performed windows system file check (sfc /scannow) which found no faults, unfortunately the problem persisted.
So I contacted Great Planes Support, Alex was very helpful, he gave me a long list of instructions to test and validate my computer system, eventually Alex advised me to uninstalled RF-X and reinstalled the program, then run it without updating for test purposes, version 1.00.028 operated fine, I flew different planes at various airports for an hour, worked good, (no error popups), just slow frame rates and stuttering then I downloaded the RF-X updates and applied them, now version 1.00.042 is working flawlessly again, 100 fps. and only the very occasion stutter.
Looking forward to the next RF-X update, this is a great simulator, with incredible graphics, especially when flying low between the trees and buildings, it is like flying in a moving photofield,
Please, Realflight just continue to improve RF-X and lets have no talk of discontinuing this graphics rich software.
I do not have a super computer, my specs:
Ryzen 5 1500x cpu
NVidia GTX 1080 gpu
Asus B350 plus motherboard.
m.2 Drive
8 GBS DDR 2400 ram (Yes only 8 gbs) I may add another 8 gbs at a later date but for now it works great.
What resolution were you running at?
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 12-15-2017, 10:52 PM
asj5547 asj5547 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 87
1920 x 1080 all settings on highest.
Just added another 8 gbs ram (16 gbs total) noticed absolutely no difference in the sim operation.
Simulator still only uses 4.7 gbs. of memory.

Last edited by asj5547; 12-16-2017 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 12-19-2017, 02:37 AM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,799
I hope we get an RF-X Christmas present I'm sure looking forward to it.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 12-19-2017, 06:59 PM
flip flip is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 10
Could we get an update on the RF-X update, is it this year or next? I know you need a Christmas too so no problem I'd just like to know what to expect.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 12-21-2017, 07:34 AM
asj5547 asj5547 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 87
Christmas may be a little tight for an update release, but a RF-X happy new year sounds good.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 12-22-2017, 01:55 PM
Jeremy Sebens's Avatar
Jeremy Sebens Jeremy Sebens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Hey folks, here's an update for you (link).

Short version - there will be a big update in January.

Last edited by Jeremy Sebens; 12-22-2017 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 12-31-2017, 08:52 AM
Tom T Tom T is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Is there a digital download available for rfx? Enjoying my rf8 ddl. And, does rfx allow wireless dongles or straight usb cable support (taranis x9d+) like rf8?
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 12-31-2017, 10:15 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom T View Post
Is there a digital download available for rfx? Enjoying my rf8 ddl. And, does rfx allow wireless dongles or straight usb cable support (taranis x9d+) like rf8?
No on both questions, unless you have the wireless interface for RealFlight that uses SLT transmitters. They have not released a new version of RF-X since its initial release last year. Perhaps they will release a digital download after 1.5 is officially released. If they did, it would most likely be from Tower Hobbies.

Last edited by csgill75; 12-31-2017 at 10:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 12-31-2017, 10:45 AM
Tom T Tom T is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Ok thanks, guess I'll hang onto my money for now. I dont mind waiting on a disc to arrive, but have no need for another TX.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 12-31-2017, 11:41 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,199
For ease of use, I recommend the InterLink-X for use in either RF8 or RF-X. There is nothing easier than plugging it in, starting the simulator and flying. No setup of models to work with your TX, no compatibility issues, and no wear on your actual flight hardware. You get 10 channels to use in either RF8 or RF-X. You can also use the interlink in other flight sims. I use mine in Lift-off, NeXt, and AccuRC.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 12-31-2017, 12:29 PM
adrenoline 60 adrenoline 60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 554
Advantages of the InterLink-X

Here's what Ryan had to say about the InterLink-X
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...94&postcount=6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.