Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 8
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2018, 04:18 PM
Jeremy Sebens's Avatar
Jeremy Sebens Jeremy Sebens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 131
Video: How to set up a new controller in RF 8.00.044 or later

Here's a brief video that demonstrates setting up an 8-axis joystick in RF8.

The mapping system works a bit differently now, so a demo seemed in order.

You don't need to do this for InterLink controllers, or when using the WS1000 dongle with a Spektrum radio. This procedure applies to other controllers that show up as Windows game devices but don't have a built-in profile in RealFlight.

Last edited by Jeremy Sebens; 11-13-2018 at 05:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2018, 07:42 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,031
Thanks for the video. I have a friend who got RF8 yesterday and has been struggling getting his radio set up. It won't be a factor for long though as I talked him into buying an Interlink which he will have in a few days.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2019, 01:49 PM
HaraldSk HaraldSk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Trondheim Norway
Posts: 3
Thank you for this. I have one question: What if one transmitter-control controls two different channels (say Channel ‘A’ and ‘B’)? How can you tell the program that you are assigning one function-channel to input-channel A and another function-channel to input-channel B, when you are doing the same move on the transmitter? This will be the case for helicopters, as the left stick up/down controls both throttle and pitch. I'm struggling hard times right now to set up my JR XG8 transmitter for helicopter-flight. The program is mapped wrong and I have to re-map. When I move the left stick up/down it only recognize the channel for pitch, and never the channel for throttle. I’m not able to assign any channel to throttle. Very frustrating.

Last edited by HaraldSk; 01-12-2019 at 02:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2019, 05:04 PM
jpdkrty jpdkrty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Thumbs up

Thanks for the excellent video It helps me understand how to program my transmitter (DX 8 G2) to the RF simulator.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2019, 01:19 PM
John Rabone John Rabone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Unhappy RF8 setup

I followed the advice and video but when I configure the Throttle the Rudder goes unassigned. When I configure the Rudder next then the Throttle goes unassigned. Am I doing something wrong as this is all new to me. I am using a Taranis X9D+ with XSR-SIM USB dongle. CH1 Ail, CH2 Ele, CH3 Thr, CH4 Rud. Also they do not show Proportional or Axis only Rotary. Mode 2.
I also noticed when I try to check out the plane there is "flutter" on elevator and ailerons even without moving the sticks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2019, 09:15 AM
wvynck wvynck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 18
OK ... iím still looking for the perfect combination with my DX6i

In RealFlight you have this settings for the controller with the WS1000

Channel 1 - Aileron
Channel 2 - Elevator
Channel 3 - Throttle
Channel 4 - Rudder
Channel 5 - Dual Rates
Channel 6 - Flaps
Channel 7 - Smoke
Channel 8 - Mode


So, if i would like the perfect allocation for flying drones, could you please say which stick to move in what direction to assign to what channel if i fly in mode 2?

This way i know that the controller configuration in RealFlight is OK so i could continue working with the configuration of the settings in the Spektrum DX6i
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.