Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 7 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2015, 08:09 PM
legoman's Avatar
legoman legoman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW, Florida
Posts: 1,807
Thumbs up 3DS Max 2012 installer work around

I have found that you can use newer licenses for 3ds max, ex. 2014, with 3ds max 2012 if you have the 2012 CD/installer. If you change the product key to the appropriate key for max 2012 and use the license info provided by autodesk. PM me for product key, I'm not posting it here. Feel free to add any more info you have. You will have to find the 3ds max installer for 2012 on the internet somewhere if don't already have it.

Note: This was tested max 2012 32-bit installer with a max 2014 license I don't know if it will work with 2015 and up.
__________________
Even pigs and bricks will fly with enough thrust.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2015, 08:17 AM
Johnny31297's Avatar
Johnny31297 Johnny31297 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 496
WOAH! My 6 month deadline just became no deadline at all! Thanks!
__________________
Not Gerfiburlating Wonkevators anymore.
Now an AccuRC Developer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2015, 10:54 AM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
man thats some good news for the modelers legoman
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2015, 11:04 AM
U-Bird's Avatar
U-Bird U-Bird is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 385
Now I'm going to have to learn how to use it!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2016, 02:34 PM
Johnny31297's Avatar
Johnny31297 Johnny31297 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 496
Well, 9 days until my license runs out and this workaround doesn't work. Help?
__________________
Not Gerfiburlating Wonkevators anymore.
Now an AccuRC Developer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2016, 06:47 PM
willsonman's Avatar
willsonman willsonman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,953
All I have to say is... DO NOT UPGRADE TO WINDOWS 10!!!!!!!!!!!!! For the love of all that is holy do not do it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydUI-s18Zx8

Seems that .NET 4.6 in Windows 10 creates all the problems...

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/searc...-products.html

I'm out of this aspect of the hobby. Its been fun but the nail in the coffin is that Knife Edge has no inclination to keep current.

Another loyal consumer lost.
__________________
RF loading quote of the day:
Loading: Gerfiburlating Wonkevators ( have a screen shot to prove this one)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2016, 07:13 PM
Johnny31297's Avatar
Johnny31297 Johnny31297 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 496
Ugh.. I'm on Win 7 lol.. It's just, reinstalling and using another license key doesn't work, it keeps showing me the license registration window
__________________
Not Gerfiburlating Wonkevators anymore.
Now an AccuRC Developer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2016, 08:24 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,497
KE has mentioned that a new exporter is planned but it will be after the next version of RealFlight is released. They also mentioned that it would take a rewrite of their software to release a new exporter. No official release date has been given, I am guessing that they might be sticking to their annual release schedule so probably in October.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-31-2016, 08:36 PM
legoman's Avatar
legoman legoman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW, Florida
Posts: 1,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny31297 View Post
Ugh.. I'm on Win 7 lol.. It's just, reinstalling and using another license key doesn't work, it keeps showing me the license registration window
You did make sure every trace of max is removed before the reinstall?
__________________
Even pigs and bricks will fly with enough thrust.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2016, 09:20 PM
willsonman's Avatar
willsonman willsonman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,953
Well, with the disappointment of anything new this past October I'm not holding my breath.
__________________
RF loading quote of the day:
Loading: Gerfiburlating Wonkevators ( have a screen shot to prove this one)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-01-2016, 08:51 AM
Johnny31297's Avatar
Johnny31297 Johnny31297 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by legoman View Post
You did make sure every trace of max is removed before the reinstall?
I thought so, will try using Total Uninstall and try again...
__________________
Not Gerfiburlating Wonkevators anymore.
Now an AccuRC Developer
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2016, 10:15 AM
Johnny31297's Avatar
Johnny31297 Johnny31297 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 496
Found a way
__________________
Not Gerfiburlating Wonkevators anymore.
Now an AccuRC Developer
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-15-2016, 12:09 PM
mwilson914's Avatar
mwilson914 mwilson914 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,112
If someone is running Windows 10, run Windows 7 on a virtual machine, or if you have multiple drives, run Windows 7 from an alternative/secondary boot device.
__________________
http://mwilson914.jimdo.com

Don't let physical inactivity take away your health. It's a hard lesson for those of us with desk jobs, but also for those that work at home from a PC as a second source of income. I'm lucky to still be alive.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-2016, 05:53 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,025
I was just about to ask if anyone had gotten 2011 or 2012 to run under Windows 10 and found this thread. I guess it'll just have to stay on a Windows 7 PC.

Thanks oDDiTy for helping me get it to work I just installed this a about a month ago. So far I can make a flying stick airplane.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 PM.